Durga Maa

Standard

Durga Maa – Pencil Sketch/ Line Art.

Links :        http://www.facebook.com/SketchiiStudio

http://www.etsy.com/shop/SketchStudio

My First Sketch. I almost forgot that once sketching was my hobby.In the past few years.. by few I mean almost ten years.. my life has changed completely. I got married, had a son, bought a house, had a job etc, this has all kept me busy.

My son has started going to school and that would mean I have a few free hours. I started doodling around and came up with my first sketch.

“Durga Maa” This sketch has always been my favourite. I remember I had made several of them and gifted to my family and neighbours. It has always been on my mind.

Durga meaning “the inaccessible” or “the invincible” is a popular fierce form of the Hindu Goddess or Devi. She is depicted with multiple (variously, up to eighteen) arms, carrying various weapons and riding a ferocious lion or tiger. She is often pictured as battling or slaying demons, particularly Mahishasura, the buffalo demon.

I started with a pencil sketch. This sketch has a lot of detailing. The intricate work on “Mukut” and Jewellery took sometime. The expression in the eyes of the Goddess are just the way I wanted, angry yet,feminine. As a goddess, Durga’s feminine power contains the combined energies of all the gods.

I have loved sketching whole of my life. I just cant believe this is my work. I later added ink to my sketch to brighten the work. It took a differnt shape. Here is the final look.

If you like my love for Durga Maa, please leave a comment. I will be motivated to bring up some new work.

Leave a Reply

